Lucas, Science Committee Republicans Request Investigation into COVID Origins

CITY OF WASHINGTON (July 30, 2021)–today, House Committee on Science, Space, and Technology Ranking Member Frank Lucas and Republican Committee Members sent a letter to Committee Chairwoman Eddie Bernice Johnson and Subcommittee on Investigations and Oversight Chairman Bill Foster requesting an investigation into the origins of COVID-19. 

On July 14, 2021, fully 18 months into the outbreak, the Science Committee held the first Congressional hearing on the virus’ origins. The letter signers commended the Committee for that action, but noted that more work is needed, particularly in light of the Chinese Communist Party’s refusal to share information about the origins of the outbreak. 

“If we expect to fully understand the origins of COVID-19, relevant committees of jurisdiction, including the Science Committee, must come together in a bipartisan manner and use our oversight powers to uncover the truth, identify lessons-learned, and establish best practices for future public health challenges,” the Members of Congress wrote. “Moving forward, all available evidence and theories must be considered fairly, and the process must be transparent, free of conflicts of interest, and protected from political interference.”

The full text of the letter follows, and a signed copy is available here. 



The letter was signed by the following Members:
  • Ranking Member Frank Lucas (R-OK)
  • Rep. Jay Obernolte (R-CA), Ranking Member, Subcommittee on Investigations and Oversight
  • Rep. Randy Weber (R-TX), Ranking Member, Subcommittee on Energy
  • Rep. Brian Babin (R-TX), Ranking Member, Subcommittee on Space and Aeronautics
  • Rep. Michael Waltz (R-FL), Ranking Member, Subcommittee on Research and Technology
  • Rep. Stephanie Bice (R-OK), Ranking Member, Subcommittee on Environment
  • Rep. Mo Brooks (R-AL)
  • Rep. Bill Posey (R-FL)
  • Rep. Anthony Gonzalez (R-OH)
  • Rep. Jim Baird (R-IN)
  • Rep. Mike Garcia (R-CA)
  • Rep. Young Kim (R-CA)
  • Rep. Randy Feenstra (R-IA)
  • Rep. Jake LaTurner (R-KS)
  • Rep. Carlos Gimenez (R-FL)
  • Rep. Peter Meijer (R-MI)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *